Home :: Customer feedback

Customer feedback

Most useful first | Newest first  
333 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Shreenath Doctor about  Stars & Stripes Rotacrylic:
Feb 5, 2015
This has got to be one of rewarding blanks that I have ever worked with! Makes inlays pale in comparison. The blue and red portions of the blanks are iridescent, shimmer and have a depth and vibrance to them and, in a way, symbolic of the land the blank represents.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (0)
Jan 3, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Here's the question: How does the Monteverde Soft Roll Refill compare to the Schmidt Easy Flow 9000 Refill? An immediate difference I see when testing them side by side is the Easy Flow 9000 lines looks DARKER - the ink seems BLACKER. There is a technical difference as the Monteverde I tested is a Medium point, which is .7mm, and the Easy Flow 9000 says the point is 1mm. But, the Easy Flow lines don't look "wider" - just darker and more dense. The Monteverde is 60 cents more, but I don't see any compelling advantage over the Easy Flow in terms of writing feel and ink roll-out quality.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
john cronin about  Stars & Stripes Rotacrylic:
Feb 15, 2015
much better than ANY inlay!! easy to turn... no drama and the results are beautiful
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Just finished a custom/kitless pen from this and found it fairly easy to turn for the most part. My carbide tool was a bit dull so had issues with it sort of bouncing off the material - but even then it turned pretty nice. Took threads very well and finished very nicely. Very pretty stuff.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Mike Maxfield about  Heritance #5 Steel Nib - Choose Point:
I bought 5 of these and installed them on some of my FP pens, I have had two customers come back for another Pen and request that I install the Heritance nibs.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Very smooth-writing nibs. I upgrade from kit nibs with this one. I got a nice surprise when I slipped one into rna Churchill. Great ink flow--very wet line. You'll want Noodler's instant drying bulletproof ink for this pen.rnrnRobert111
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Very nice kit. Especially for beginners. I really liked the balance of the finished razor, and the weight makes it feel more substantial than the standard razor. I've only done chrome so far, and the chrome finish was perfect with no flaws in the finish that I noticed. My only complaint was that the parts fit loosely in the tube, and required some loctite. Not a big deal, but might be an issue for those not using something to keep the parts in place.rnrnI'll be buying more.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Robert Holm about  Alternate Coral 20mm - Choose Length:
Very pleasing material to turn--must be polyester resin. The color is much redder than shown in the photo. It's actually a brick red. Makes a stunning pen with the white markings in the red material. Reminds me somewhat of the Amedeo Italian resin.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Just want to tell everyone that I have made a pen from each of these new materials. The gold or silver flakes do not interfere with your turning, they cut clean and do not NEED any CA treatment along the way. I sanded with 400-600-1000 grit and then buffed with the tripoli and then white diamond buffing wheels. They looked good- Ed
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
David Parker about  Athletes in Action - Golf:
Nov 13, 2013
I made a Triton rollerball using this blank for a client. It was easy to turn and came out great. The green acrylic is nicely marbled and has an attractive pearl shine to it. It also polishes up very well. The golfer is very sharply defined with nice silhouette details. I was impressed with this Jeff Powell blank.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Nov 26, 2013
A very interesting blank, seemed to shimmer on the top and pop on the sides. One of those blanks my daughters pick when they get to pick out the blanks for the order.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Harry Mathew about  Zodiac Stylus - Chrome & Gunmetal:
Dec 22, 2013
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great price on a very durable plating components. Easy to assembly, one piece tube to show your blank. Stylus works great on my phone, and my tablets. Transmission works flawlessly and smooth. Overall, great kit, plating options and feels good to write with. I will purchase more.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Lonny Kent about  Sierra Stylus Ballpoint - Chrome:
Feb 7, 2014
This is a nice pen but the stylus does not hold up and can not be replaced.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Oct 8, 2014
GREAT looking pen, easy to assemble and turn with single barrel, but expensive pen kit. Only negative is the price.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Ed Brown about  Bubinga High End Pen Box :
Apr 9, 2015
This is Ed from Exotics: We saw this comment on the weekend and I contacted Penn State (from whom we buy these) to tell them their description seemed to be in error.

I was very impressed with Rich's ability to revive this project, as he had described on Facebook. His result was outstanding. However, ExoticBlanks will make more of an effort to confirm information we receive, especially from PSI! They do have a maple box that truly is solid wood. This is the only box we currently recommend for engraving.

Thanks to Rich for his feedback!

Ed and Dawn----ExoticBlanks

That conversation resulted in PSI changing the description on their website, and, of course we changed the information on our page at Exotics.

Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Jul 29, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Off the charts cool ! Very handsome luxurious looking pen . Nice balance and writes well.

Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Dec 19, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
The picture shows vibrant and bright colors, but they are very dark and barely contrasting at all. I am reluctant to buy future blanks with pictures enhanced so heavily.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Michael Gifford about  T Handle Corkscrew Kit (with Stopper) :
Mar 29, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
These turn out very nice. Really the only issue I had is that the bushings for this don't allow for TBC, so I had to use the calipers (a lot). Large dia. is .600 and small dia. is .429. If you TBC, don't waste money on the bushings as they only fit on a mandrel.

Other than that, this is quite heavy and looks and feels like "quality". You DO have to turn two blanks, so that adds to the time to make. I'll be buying more of these.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Michael Gifford about  Rebar Pen Blanks - Vertex Click:
Oct 13, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This blank made a really cool pen! I was a bit worried as the blank is slightly shorter than the tube, but the pen works fine. There is, of course, no turning involved. Just epoxy the tube in, square, and assemble. The pen has a bit of heft to it, but it's not as heavy as one might think.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
shawn newton about  Alternate Ebony 20mm:
I just turned a custom/kitless pen from this - and while it finishes beautifully, it can be a bit difficult to turn, at least for somebody as new at turning as me. I found it a little brittle, and when being aggressive had a blow out. Go slow, go gentle, sharp tools, and you should be fine. Takes threads pretty well using fine threaded tap/die. Tried to thread a tenon for a finial and it cracked. I turned it smaller than required but I think my die was too coarse. I think finer threads there would have been fine. Turned a finial from black acrylic and when finished I couldn't tell the difference between the plastic and alt ebony.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
BRENDA WITTE about  Classic Black Ebonite - Choose Length:
It smells a bit bad while turning, but is worth it. It has a beautiful shine when it is finished. I plan on buying more.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Shreenath Doctor about  Collet Chucking System with 5 Collets:
Great collet chuck.. I use it for all my kitless work with round blanks, rods or square blanks turned round. Very durable!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
I use this vise for any kind of four sided blank that needs a hole drilled, once i have it set up on the drill table I fasten it with some glue or C clamps which makes drilling the blanks a breeze.....
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Douglas Reece about  Appletini Acrylic Pen Blank:
Turned 14 pens with this blank on a Sierra pen kit. Great burst of color. Finishes exceptionaly well with micro mesh sanding .
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Ed DePietro about  Earth's Core Rhino Plastic:
I really like this blank. The colors change so much it goes with just about any plating.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)

Gift certificates